InPursuitOfArt - Becoming a Self-Taught Artist - resources

And brushes! Sharing is caring <3

InPursuitOfArt - Becoming a Self-Taught Artist - resources

Postby volen » Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:12 am

Hey guys :)

About a year and a half ago I decided that I was going to learn to paint. I was 25 at that time. Until I was 22 I had pretty much 0 interest in art, I had never looked at, cared for or done it. I used to read a lot... that was what I considered to be the ultimate medium and hated film and didn't see a point to art. It was just pictures of things.

And of course, as should be expected, a few years later I'd decided that all I want to do is to learn to do the thing that I can't do. I had no previous experience, I had no one to show me, I knew nothing about the industry or anything related to the art world, I just wanted to learn to draw and I sucked at it. It was definitely the worst thing I could have chosen to do. I didn't even know the words for the things I didn't know and I had no concept of how anything is achieved. 0 technical skill, 0 talent, 0 ideas about how to do this thing. My only knowledge was just popular beliefs about talent and what people who are artists supposedly do - they have a feeling, sit down and make a beautiful picture... well, balls to that.

Anyway, last year I committed myself to learning, to just doing this regardless of whether I could or couldn't, regardless of talent,career, money ,etc. to take the leap and just get this done. I also decided I wanted to make a roadmap for others, so that people who are wondering the same things I did, would have a concrete example of how it's done... if I manage to do it that is. I spent loads of time going through people's sketchbooks and trolling deviantart profiles to see the development of artists and how they progressed, what they struggled with and if I can do what they did or if there is something magical about some people and they can do certain things and others simply can't.